Inspired by the Reggio Emilia philosophy...
Overfield is a school dedicated to honoring and respecting each child. In 1960, Julia Hobart founded the Overfield Nursery School to meet the needs and enrich the lives of not only her children but all children in the community. Twelve children made up that first class, which met in the Overfield Museum. For the next 28 years, school was in session in the back of the museum, one of the first buildings in Troy, built in 1808 as the Overfield Tavern. In 1970, the innovative program was recognized and granted licensing by the State of Ohio.
By 1988, 65 children attended the Overfield Early Childhood Program, which ran five days a week. When the school received accreditation from the National Association for the Education of Young Children in 1988, the Hobart Brothers Company saw fit to offer the Edward and Martha Hobart house and grounds as the school’s new home.
A renovation thoughtfully optimized the space for young children and the yellow doors, which have cheerfully greeted students since, opened in September 1989 to 100 children and nine teachers. Ever mindful of the school’s needs and growth, Julia and William gave Overfield the funds to purchase the house and grounds in 1998. Our campus continues to evolve and grow through the efforts and vision of our community. Visit the Campus section to learn more about where we learn.
A school built by a community, we’re also supported by our community. The dedication of time and resources of Overfield families and staff, combined with the generous contributions from Julia and William Hobart, the Hobart Brothers Company, the C.C. Hobart Foundation, and other organizations and businesses bring this unique educational opportunity to young children in the Miami Valley Area.